Monthly Archives: July 2010

Aurora Leighton-Holmes Poet- PARADOX

      PARADOX

      by Aurora Leighton-Holmes

      Poems from life 

      Explore the range and depth of human emotion

      www.OneChoiceCanChangeALife.com

      Amethyst Moon Publishing & Services 

      Publishing with a Personal Touch

Leave a comment

Filed under Books to Read

Stephanie Kallos Author- SING THEM HOME

      SING THEM HOME

      by Stephanie Kallos

      author of BROKEN FOR YOU

      Chosen by Entertainment Weekly as one of the 10 Best Books of 2009

      “…a welcome tonic to those of us who look back with great longing to Anne Tyler’s early novels…”- Nancy Pearl, author of BOOKLUST 

      “Fans of Ann Patchett and Haven Kimmel shoul dive onto the sofa one wintry weekend with Stephanie Kallos’ wonderfully transportive second novel….”- Entertainment Weekly 

      “A magical novel that even cynics will close with a smile.”-  People Magazine

      “Not since THE WIZARD OF OZ has a tonado been used to such potent literary effect…  Kallos performs ample wizardry in blending both tears and quirky humor in this tale of lost souls.”- The Seattle Times 

      Now available in paperback

      www.groveatlantic.com 

      www.stephaniekallos.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Books to Read

James A. Martin Author- GUNS FOR HIRE RED ZONE RUN: MOSUL

      GUNS FOR HIRE RED ZONE RUN: MOSUL 

      by James A. Martin 

      Follow one man through the dangers of Iraq in this book from the Guns for Hire series.

      www.OneChoiceCanChangeALife.com

      Publishing with a Personal Touch 

      Amethyst Moon Publishing & Services

Leave a comment

Filed under Books to Read

Lin Conkin Author- CHOICES IN THE GREAT CIRCLE

      CHOICES IN THE GREAT CIRCLE

      by Lin Conkin

      Will the old ways die and a new era begin?

      Amay must choose between power and love, self-sacrifice and peace. 

      www.OneChoiceCanChangeALife.com

      Publishing with a Personal Touch

      Amethyst Moon Publishing & Services

Leave a comment

Filed under Books to Read

Jennifer Kitchell Author- GIRL WITH SKIRT OF STARS

      GIRL WITH SKIRT OF STARS

      by Jennifer Kitchell 

      “A stunning mystery debut by a gifted story-teller!  GIRL WITH SKIRT OF STARS is a head-long plunge into a mystery intertwined with the mysteries of Navajo culture and rendered in language as gorgeours as the the southwestern landscape.”- Margaret Coel, award-winning author of the WIND RIVER series 

      “GIRL WITH THE SKIRT OF STARS is a riveting read and a top pick.”- Midwest Book Review

      “This is breathtaking writing!  Readers who loved Tony Hillerman should rejoice…Jennifer Kitcell follows in his tradition of suspense steeped in cultural issues.  Kitchell deserves a spot atop the bestseller lists!”- Christine DeSmet, Author of SPIRIT LAKE 

      “This meticulously-crafted debut novel weaves Navajo ethnography, sexual tension, political power, and the beauty of Grand Canyon country into a fast-paced story.  Kitchell’s voice is confident, reflecting her deep knowledge of Navajo culture and the physical beauty of the Southwestern US.”

      Available from your favorite Bookseller or Book Distributor

      ISBN 978-1-932636-56-7    Trade Paper   348 pages 

      Published by Pronghorn Press      www.pronghornpress.org 

      Request signed copies from the author at: www.girlwithskirtofstars.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Books to Read

John Lyman Author- GOD’S LIONS THE SECRET CHAPEL

      GOD’S LIONS THE SECRET CHAPEL

      by John Lyman 

      A thriller for our times…

      Synopsis: Summoned to Rome by an old friend, a Jesuit scholar finds himself using a code discovered in the Bible to unearth an ancient, hidden chapel in the catacombs under the city.  When a rogue force of Vatican security officials are alerted to his discovery, the priest flees to the Holy Land with a clue…a clue that will lead him and a team of Israeli Christians to a much larger secret in the middle of the barren Negev Desert. 

      Meticulously researched and drawing on scientific fact, John Lyman’s intriguing story takes us into the world of scholars, archaeologists, code-breakers, and intelligence specialists who have discvered a prophetic code hidden within the Old Testament that authenticates the Bible as a book of supernatural orgin and points to a divine plan.  This gripping novel is truely a thought-provoking and action-packed thriller with implications for our future. 

      Website for the novel: http://johnlymanauthor.com

      “…a plot-driven novel with enough action to fill several volumes.  Readers who enjoy religious tales filled with symbols and mysteries will find themselves well-supplied.- Arizona Daily Star 

      What Readers are saying- 

      “Well reserached and masterfully woven, this novel will glue you to your seat and have you hanging on with your fingernails.”

      “Books like this make one think outside of what you think you know about the world.”

      I could not put this book down- absolutely unpredictable.” 

      Also available at Amazon.com and on the Kindle e-reader.

1 Comment

Filed under Books to Read

Curt Stubbs Poet- WHISKEY ROUNDS

      WHISKEY ROUNDS 

Going down where the whiskey sounds

like water running through my fingers. 

All dressed up in gin and flannel,

my jeans as faded as my soul. 

I’m on a hell bound train,

ain’t got no ticket,

no baggage that I care to carry. 

Can’t get there fast enough,

one sip and all aboard. 

In the morning my freshly plowed mouth,

like a dry, dusty field produces no sound

except a deathly squawk. 

My stomach rumbles its discontent,

my hammered head hears 

each sound as an assault. 

I order a bloody mary to start another day. 

      Curt Stubbs

      3880 N. Park.  Apt. A 

      Tucson, Az 85719

Leave a comment

Filed under Guest Bloggers